# FEDERATION of EUROPEAN IRISH WOLFHOUND CLUBS

# Minutes of the 6<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Ruling Council De Montil Center, Essene (B) Thursday May 9<sup>th</sup> 2002, 3 p.m.

Participants from the following countries were present: Belgium, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Slovenia, Switzerland. Apologies were received from Finland and Sweden.

### 1. John Briggs opens the meeting.

In the absence of the President and the Chairman, the meeting was opened by the Treasurer John Briggs.

The President, Tony Doyle was absent. Mrs Kelly said he had suffered a recent fall and was not able to attend. John Briggs gives an overview of the actual situation of the organisation.

## 2. Minutes of meeting of the Ruling Council in Norway 2000 (made by Mr G. McCabe).

Minutes of the meeting were read by Frans De Ridder.

Willy Hasselbrink pointed out that the Swiss Delegate was also present at the congress in Norway. Tob Swelheim was not present at the last meeting and asked if the decisions were made with 2/3 majority of votes. He also asked about the number of board members.

John Briggs answered that the 2/3 majority was OK and that the number of board members is 8. Tob Swelheim remarks that 8 is 1 too much.

John Briggs answered that the President of the Irish Wolfhound Club is always President of the association. Therefore it is not an eligible member of the board.

Remarks about the membership of Finland from CH. Also in CH there are doubts about remaining member of the E.I.W.C.

Mr Hasselbrink makes the remark that, when somebody is nominated for a function, that person must execute this function.

For him, only 1 person has worked during the last 2 years: John Briggs.

John answered that the French Delegate and the Luxembourg Delegate had been a great help. John expressed his desire to have a permanent secretary instead of a temporary secretary who is only busy with the preparations of the congress and the show.

Mr Swelheim shared the disappointment of Mr Hasselbrink and Mr Brandenburger and remarked that, since 1995, there was no sharing of information between the Irish Wolfhound clubs.

## 3. Chairman's report:

**In the absence of the chairman,** Mr McCabe; the meeting was informed that he had sent his resignation to Mr Tony Doyle.

### 4. Treasurer's report:

John Briggs presented the financial report with a lot of detailed information.

Finland has to pay its contribution for the last 4 years. A reminder will be sent.

No comments were made and Mr Hasselbrink proposed the report be accepted. Mr Swelheim thanked the Treasurer for his work and the members agreed with applause.

A BOB trophy also will be presented for both the centennial show days 10 and 11-5-2002.

### 5. Application for membership.

The Slovenian Club for Sighthounds did not apply for membership (as mentioned on the agenda) but was proposing to organise the congress in 2006. The club changed also its name.

The only candidate was the Belgian Irish Wolfhound Club.

Willy Hasselbrink asked if the Belgian Irish Wolfhound is a member of the FCI.

Answer: NO club can be a direct member of the FCI. The club is recognised by the KUSH, the official organisation in Belgium, member of the FCI. This means that the level of recognition is the same as for the Belgian Sighthound Club or any other club for Irish Wolfhounds. Tob Swelheim said that he was pleased about the creation of the new club and their independence.

### 6. Congress and show in 2004.

Originally, France was candidate for the show. France and Holland have had contact and propose that the 2004 activities will be organised in the Netherlands.

Proposal accepted.

## 7. Congress and show in 2006.

France proposes to organise the 2006 event in France. Proposal accepted.

### 8. Congress and show in 2008.

Slovenia is candidate (instead of 2006).

Slovenia regrets that they never received an answer to their letter, sent in 2000.

Proposal accepted.

## 9. Change to the articles of Association.

Removed from the agenda – no proposals received.

#### 10. Election of new board members.

**President** Mr A Killykeen Doyle (automatic nomination – no election).

**Chairman** 2 candidates: Mr Swelheim and **Mr Briggs**.

Mr Hasselbrink expressed his opinion that a chairman cannot execute 2 tasks: Chairman of the Dutch Irish Wolfhound club AND Chairman of the EIWC. Mr Swelheim does not agree.

Result of the vote: Mr Swelheim 5 votes and Mr Briggs 6 votes.

Mr Briggs is nominated for 4 years.

After the election of the chairman and before the election of the vice-chairman, Holland replaced Mr Swelheim by Jo Hoffman as official delegate.

Vice Chairman1 candidate, proposed by Mr Briggs: Monette Daubenfeld.

Elected: 8 votes in favour.

**Treasurer** 1 candidate: Mr Willems

Mr Swelheim expresses his opinion that it is not allowed that more than one member of the committee is "coming" from the same country. Mr Briggs is representing Belgium as a foundation member of the Belgian Irish Wolfhound Club.

After a discussion, Karel Willems is elected with 6 votes in favour.

**Secretary** 1 candidate, proposed by Mr Hasselbrink: **Mrs Maurer**.

Elected with 9 votes in favour.

#### Additional members for the board:

- John Kelly (automatic nomination no election).
- Jo Hoffmann, proposed by Mr Briggs.
- Marcello Poli.

Frans de Ridder Secretary